About Us

Sponsors and Sponsorship

In 1985, with the help of the Board of Control for Cricket, the SLSCA managed to get two Sponsors for the Junior tournaments, namely : Uni Lever or Lever  Bros for the Under 13, and Under 15 tournaments (Rs 50,000/- sponsorship fee) Magpek Exports for the Under 17 tournament (Rs 10,000/- sponsorship fee) From 1986 – Lever Brothers (Astra) took over sponsorship of all the Junior tournaments In the 1990’s Elephant House also offered their sponsorship and tournaments were played for the “Lemonade Trophy” Other Sponsors have been Bank of Ceylon, Lakbima Group, Mascom Group, Prima, Bata, Singer, Dialog, Etisalat, etc We thank all such Corporate Companies, who have joined hands with the Association from time to time to give the Cricket in the Schools sphere a boost, by way of sponsorships and Annual year end Awards, namely the Schoolboy Cricket of the year awards. Most of the School Cricketers selected as Schoolboy Cricketer of the year, have gone on to represent the country.

Current Strength of the Association

Over the years the number of schools have grown from strength to strength and today there are approximately 670 cricket playing schools from the 25 Districts round the country. The break-down of the number of Cricket playing schools in 2019 is as follows –
First XI – 250,
Under 17 – 250,
Under 15 – 300,
Under 13 – 500 played across three Divisions in all age groups
We are confident that with the backing of the three big brothers, namely
The Ministry of Education
The Ministry of Sports,
Sri Lanka Cricket
We could lead a revolution in Cricket in the Country and bring back past glories.

Patron  : Hon: Minister Of Education  
President : Mr. Thilak Waththuhewa – Principal of Richmond College – Galle
Deputy President : Mr. Oshara Panditharathna – Ministry Of Education
Vice Presidents:  : Mr. H.A.Jayawardana     – Principal  Rathnavali Balika Vidyalaya – Gampaha
    Mr.Susantha Mendis  – Principal  Science College – Mt.Lavinia
    Mr. Gamini Jayawardhana – Principal  Mahinda College – Galle
    Mr.Jagath Senarathna   – Principal  Pe.De.S.Kularathna Maha Vidyalaya – Ambalangoda
    Mr.Kithmevan Nadith Jayaweera – Principal  Lalith Athulathmudali Maha Vidyalaya – Mt.Lavinia
General Secretary : Mr. J.A.K.S. Indrajith – Dehiovita National School – Dehiovita 
Treasurer : Mr.Manjula Vas  – St. Peter’s College – Negombo
Assistant Secretary : Mr. Leelananda Kumarasiri – Tzu Chi National School  – Hambantota
Assistant Treasurer : Mr. Pradeep Kumara Dharmasena  – Sri Buddhajayanthi MMV– Balangoda
Technical Officer : Mr.Viraj Chaminda – Sri Sumangala College  – Hikkaduwa